A Monday Lagniappe

Some days you run across something that can’t wait a week.

After listening for the 3rd time to Sunday’s selection I noticed You-Tube suggested this YO-YO-Ma video. Don’t just listen to the music, watch the video too. In a world where disunity seems to dominate it is inspiring to be reminded how we are all human. And it doesn’t hurt that Yo-YO Ma is playing Bach.

Enjoy. Jack

Sunday Serendipity

Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel – String Quartet in E-Flat Major

Fanny Mendelssohn, the older sister of Felix, was a prolific composer, a
skilled pianist and a respected hostess of a flourishing Berlin salon (a
fashionable gathering of notables, such as artists or statemen, held at the
home of a prominent individual). Fanny and Felix shared a common music
education and developed an unusually close sibling relationship. When she
was a child the family encouraged Fanny’s involvement in music, not just as
a performer but as a composer, but as she matured into womanhood her
father let her know unequivocally that, while she had great musical talent,
she would do best to focus on being a wife and mother. In a letter to her in
1820 he stated, “Music will perhaps become his [Felix’s] profession, while
for you it can and must be only an ornament”

Fanny’s music reflects her deep reverence for both Bach and Beethoven as
well as a strong influence from her brother. It exhibits a fine craftsmanship
and lyricism typical of the post-Classical Mendelssohnian style, combined
with her own experimental and inventive approach to form and content.
The String Quartet in E flat major was composed in 1834. This imaginative
and elegantly lyrical work was Fanny’s only one in the genre and acknowledges her debt to the quartets of Beethoven.

Enjoy, Jack